Aquaponics

Image
aquaponics

Full S.T.E.A.M. ahead...with AQUAPONICSYouth Program

Be part of the exploratory group to dive into the new exhibit, AQUAPONICS AT THE BUELL! Youth in 3rd-6th grades are invited to join the first-ever, afterschool experience all about aquaponics, a food production method using fish and plants. This 5-wk program is a fascinating hands-on learning opportunity located at the working ecosystem built last year on the first floor.  Sessions will have a S.T.E.A.M. focus (science, technology, engineering, art and math) that is fun, entertaining and cool. Participants will learn about nature's balance, freshwater fish biology and growing plants without soil!  Hands-on experiments, watercolor painting instruction and healthy snacks included.  Participants will be asked to give their feedback on the program at the end. The I Will Projects built the system, and their expert instructors will lead each session. This program is offered free of charge to the first 12 youth registered.  Don't miss out on this special program and exhibit.

Tuesdays and Thursdays
February 21 - March 23, 2023
4:30pm - 5:30pm
Ages: 3rd - 6th grade level students
FREE to the first 12 youths registered. ($300.00 value!)
Buell Children's Museum registration deadline: February 15, 2023

 

Price
$0.00
Aquaponics
Seats Available

0

This program is offered FREE of charge to the first 12 youth registered. A $300 Value!

Week 1

Tuesday 2/21/23 - What is Aquaponics?

Thursday 2/23/23 - Fish Facts 


Week 2

Tuesday 2/28/23 - Seeds Become Plants: Germination 

Thursday 3/2/23 - Light is Energy 


Week 3

Tuesday 3/7/23 - Bacteria Do the Work 

Thursday 3/9/23 - Know Your H2O 


Week 4

Tuesday 3/14/23 - Chiles n Chinampas 

Thursday 3/16/23 - Growing Food That's Out of the World! 


Week 5

Tuesday 3/21/23 - AquaArt: Watercolor Basics 

Thursday 3/23/23 - Just Keep Swimming